News, Culture & Society

Marriage equality vote: Who voted NO to same sex marriage?

  • Top 7 electorates to vote AGAINST same sex marriage were in New South Wales
  • The seat of Blaxland, in Sydney’s west, voted 74 per cent against the change
  • Meanwhile, seat of Melbourne recorded the country’s highest YES vote 

Australia may have voted overwhelmingly in favour of same sex marriage – but these are the suburbs which cast their ballots against change. 

The top seven electorates to vote against same sex marriage were all in New South Wales, the only state to report less than 60 per cent in favour of the change.

The seat of Blaxland – which represents suburbs near Villawood and Auburn in Sydney’s west – voted 74 per cent against the change. 

State by state breakdown: NSW voted most narrowly for same sex marriage – while in the ACT nearly three quarters of the population were in favour

Likewise did the federal western Sydney seats of Watson, McMahon, Werriwa, Fowler, Parramatta and Chifley. 

Maranoa, in Queensland’s rural south-west, and Calwell in Victoria’s north-west recorded the strongest No votes in their states. 

The seat of Melbourne, which takes in the city’s CBD, recorded the state’s highest yes vote.  

Tony Abbott’s seat of Warringah, which takes in parts of Sydney’s northern beaches, recorded the fourth highest ‘Yes’ vote in the land. 



Comments are closed.