News, Culture & Society

All you need to know for the Champions League quarter-final draw

CHAMPIONS LEAGUE QUARTER-FINAL DRAW GUIDE: When is it, how to watch and which teams are through?

  • Champions League quarter-final draw take place at 11am GMT on 15 March
  • UK viewers can watch Champions League draw on BT Sport 2 or UEFA website 
  • All 8 places in the quarter-final are filled with English clubs making up half of it

Eight teams have now secured their spots in the Champions League quarter-final as they continue to advance on the road to Madrid.

Liverpool are latest team through after winning their second leg against Bayern Munich 3-1 after being held to goalless draw in the first leg at Anfield.

The Reds will now join English rivals Manchester United, Tottenham and Man City to make up half of the eight teams through to the quarter-final.

Sportsmail provide you with everything you need to know for the Champions League quarter-final draw including date, time and channel plus last-16 teams through and their European performances.

Champions League quarter-final draw takes place on Friday at 11am GMT in Nyon 

When is it?

Champions League quarter-final draw takes place at 11am GMT on Friday 15th March with semi-final draw following immediately after.

How to watch? 

You can watch live coverage of Champions League draw for quarter-final and semi-final on UEFA website or BT Sport 2.

Altenatively follow Sportsmail’s live coverage of Champions League and Europa League draw this Friday. 

Where will it take place? 

The draw will take place at UEFA’s Swiss headquarters in Nyon. 

Teams KO’d so far?

  • Real Madrid
  • Borussia Dortmund
  • PSG 
  • Roma 
  • Schalke
  • Atletico Madrid 
  • Bayern Munich 
  • Lyon

Which teams have made it to the quarter-final? 

  • Ajax (NED)
  • Tottenham Hotspur (ENG)
  • Manchester United (ENG) 
  • Porto (POR)
  • Manchester City (ENG)
  • Juventus (ITA)
  • Barcelona (ESP)
  • Liverpool (ENG)

Who can teams face in the quarter-final draw?

All teams are eligible to play each other in the quarter-final as there are no seedings or no country protection.

When will the quarter-finals be played? 

The Champions League quarter-final first and second legs will be played on:

  • First leg – 9/10 April
  • Second leg – 16/17 April

Quarter-finalist team performances

Stats based on clubs performance from Champions.

Manchester United 

Goals: 10

Shots on target: 28

Shooting accuracy (exc. blocks) : 41.2

Assists: 4

Passes: 3818

Passing accuracy: 84.5%

Possession: 48.0%

Goals conceded:  7


Goals: 12

Shots on target: 41

Shooting accuracy (exc. blocks):  39.1%

Assists: 8

Passes: 4400

Passing accuracy: 87.4%

Possession: 57.8%

Goals conceded: 6


Goals: 13

Shots on target: 48

Shooting accuracy (exc. blocks): 55.8%

Assists: 13

Passes: 4233

Passing accuracy: 85.4%

Possession: 52.7%

Goals conceded: 10


Goals: 19

Shots on target: 42

Shooting accuracy (exc. blocks): 48.3%

Assists: 13

Passes: 3682

Passing accuracy: 79.8%

Possession: 55.8%

Goals conceded: 8

Manchester City 

Goals: 26

Shots on target: 59

Shooting accuracy (exc. blocks): 50.7%

Assists: 18

Passes: 5271

Passing accuracy: 90.1

Possession: 63.6%

Goals conceded:  8


Goals: 16

Shots on target: 55

Shooting accuracy (exc. blocks): 55.0%

Assists: 11

Passes: 4121

Passing accuracy: 82.9%

Possession: 54.4%

Goals conceded:  8


Goals: 12

Shots on target: 36

Shooting accuracy (exc. blocks): 39.6%

Assists: 9

Passes: 4243

Passing accuracy: 80.6%

Possession: 53.1%

Goals conceded: 8


Goals: 19

Shots on target: 62

Shooting accuracy (exc. blocks): 49.6%

Assists: 16

Passes: 5415

Passing accuracy: 88.4%

Possession: 62.6%

Goals conceded:  6

Champions League top scorers so far…

  1. Robert Lewandowski – 8 
  2. Dusan Tadic – 6
  3. Lionel Messi – 6
  4. Moussa Marega – 6
  5. Andrej Kramaric – 5
  6. Edin Dzeko – 5
  7. Harry Kane – 5
  8. Neymar – 5
  9. Paulo Dybala – 5
  10. Sergio Aguero – 5 

Champions League key dates

  • 9/10 April: Quarter-finals, first leg
  • 16/17 April: Quarter-finals, second leg
  • 30 April/1 May: Semi-finals, first leg
  • 7/8 May: Semi-finals, second leg
  • Saturday 1 June: Final – Estadio Metropolitano, Madrid


Comments are closed.