News, Culture & Society

Daylight savings begins in Australia in NSW, Victoria, SA, Tasmania, ACT on October 7

When do the clocks go forward in 2018 in Australia?

Daylight Savings Time will start on October 7 in 2018 which means that at 2am, clocks are turned forward one hour to 3am. DST usually starts on the first Sunday in October.

On this day, sunrise and sunset will be an hour later than on October 6 and there will be more light in the evening as Australia gets ready for summer.

When do the clocks change in New Zealand?

With all of New Zealand being in the same time zone, DST usually starts one week earlier but ends at the same time in Australia.

In 2018, Daylight Savings Time will end in New Zealand on April 1, the same as Australia, but will start on September 30.

What is Daylight Savings Time (DST)?

Australia is divided into three time zones known as Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST), Australian Central Standard Time (ACST) and Australian Western Standard Time (AWST).

In Australia , Daylight Savings Time is when clocks go forward by one hour for the winter and one hour back in the summer.

When was it first introduced? 

Clocks go back by one hour from 3am to 2am on Sunday April 1

Germany was the first country to adopt DST in 1916 as a way to reduce fuel usage during the war and after its success, it was taken on by other countries. It was used again during World War II.

Tasmania was the first to implement Daylight Savings Time in 1968 and other states did the same in 1971. Queensland stopped participating in 1971.

However, five years later, a referendum was held in NSW asking whether or not DST should be adopted on a permanent basis, but the majority voted in favour of the clocks being put back and forward.

Which states do not participate in Daylight Savings Time?

Daylight Savings Time is observed in the Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, South Australia, Tasmania and Victoria.

It is not used in Western Australia, Queensland and the Northern Territory.