News, Culture & Society

Gaze heads NBL 40th anniversary team

Australian basketball legend Andrew Gaze has attracted the most votes of all the players named in the NBL’s 40th Anniversary team.

Gaze, centre Mark Bradtke and the American-born trio of point guard Ricky Grace and forwards Leroy Loggins and James Crawford made the starting five.

More than 6000 people voted for a starting five from a list of 40 players over a three-week period.

The bench also included two Australians in point guard Shane Heal and centre Chris Anstey and Americans Robert Rose, Darryl McDonald and Mark Davis.

Gaze, now the Sydney Kings coach, played in the NBL for just over half its existence to date.

He played 612 games over 22 seasons, 15 in which he was the league’s leading scorer and his tally of 18,908 points is the most in NBL history.

Gaze is also the league’s all-time leader in assists, a seven-time competition MVP and he made the All NBL first team 15 times.

“To think the fans think of me that way is very humbling and I’m extremely grateful,” Gaze said.

“Those other players are just fantastic players and the contribution they’ve made is as significant as anything I’ve done.”

All 10 of the players notched well in excess of 300 NBL games.

Sorry we are not currently accepting comments on this article.