News, Culture & Society

How to remove the ‘seen’ word underneath Facebook messages you’ve read

Never send a ‘read’ receipt again: The little-known trick that hides the ‘seen’ notification on Facebook Messenger

  • A Google Chrome plugin blocks the ability to be ‘seen’ on Facebook messenger
  • This way you can read any message without anyone detecting your presence
  • The add on is free to download and can be turned on and off at your discretion
  • There are multiple creators offering same thing but they are named differently

A little-known Google Chrome plugin allows Facebook Messenger users to hide the ‘seen’ notification on their message exchanges, removing the pressure many feel to respond to friends right away. 

The add-on, which only works if you use Chrome as your internet browser, is free to install and can be turned on and off at your discretion, so the power of being ‘seen’ is in your hands.

Aptly named ‘Unseen for Facebook’, the downloadable system has been given 4.5 stars from over 4,000 reviews, who are enjoying being so unnoticeable on social media. 

The add-on, which only works if you use Chrome as your browser, is free to install and can be turned on and off at your discretion, so the power of being ‘seen’ is in your hands (stock image)

Aptly named ' Unseen for Facebook ', the downloadable system has been given 4.5 stars from over 4,000 reviews, who are enjoying being so unnoticeable on social media

Aptly named ‘ Unseen for Facebook ‘, the downloadable system has been given 4.5 stars from over 4,000 reviews, who are enjoying being so unnoticeable on social media

‘It immensely bothers me that my friends message me at the very moment I show up online or in the middle of messaging someone. But thanks to this extension, I am able to go full incognito at my friends and keep my communication invisible,’ one person said.

‘My messenger activity cannot be detected by anyone and thanks to Unseen I use Facebook and messenger much more frequently.’

‘I’ve avoided almost every possible worst outcome ever with this extension. Thanks guys,’ said another.

There is a secondary feature that the plugin offers in that it makes sure you don’t come up as ‘online’ when you are, so people can’t tell the last time you were active.

'It immensely bothers me that my friends message me at the very moment I show up online or in the middle of messaging someone,' one person said

‘It immensely bothers me that my friends message me at the very moment I show up online or in the middle of messaging someone,’ one person said

There are a number of similar plugin's offering the same privacy as Unseen, although they also focus on blocking delivery receipts so people can't see if you've even got their message

There are a number of similar plugin’s offering the same privacy as Unseen, although they also focus on blocking delivery receipts so people can’t see if you’ve even got their message

How do you download the plugin? 

1. Log into the Google Chrome web store.

2. Type ‘Unseen for Facebook’ into the search engine.

3. Download the plugin.

4. Use Facebook as normal. 

‘I absolutely love it. Nobody can tell if I’m online, particularly on Facebook. My significant other can’t tell how late I was on it or how late it was before I logged off and went to bed, so it seriously keeps me out of trouble,’ said one woman. 

‘The best extension around, in my opinion. Life has enough drama without also having to add “friends” becoming offended because they think you are ignoring them,’ said another.

There are a number of similar plugin’s offering the same privacy as Unseen, although they also focus on blocking delivery receipts so people can’t see if you’ve even got their message. 

There is even one called ‘Delete All Messages for Facebook’ that will quickly remove every message you’ve ever sent or that sits in your inbox. 

While many have petitioned Facebook to remove its ‘seen’ feature for years, this provides a shortcut while you wait.

Read more at DailyMail.co.uk


Comments are closed.