News, Culture & Society

‘It’s dangerous play from Kane’: Martin Keown criticises Spurs captain wins penalty off Adam Lallana

‘It is dangerous play from Kane, he knows what he is doing’: Martin Keown says Spurs star should have been penalised for the challenge with Adam Lallana that won Tottenham a penalty in their win over Brighton

  • Tottenham was awarded a penalty after Adam Lallana jumped over Harry Kane 
  • Kane converted the penalty and Tottenham went on to beat Brighton 2-1 
  • Martin Keown has criticised Kane in the way that he won the penalty for his team

Martin Keown has labelled the way in which Harry Kane won Tottenham’s penalty against Brighton as ‘dangerous play’.

The England captain was awarded a penalty after he stepped back into the path of Adam Lallana who jumped over the striker’s back while going up for a header.

Kane scored from the penalty spot before Gareth Bale scored the winner after Tariq Lamptey scored an equaliser for the away side. 

Harry Kane was awarded a penalty after Brighton's Adam Lallana jumped over his back

Harry Kane was awarded a penalty after Brighton’s Adam Lallana jumped over his back

Kane has been criticised though for looking and backing into Lallana to win the penalty

Kane has been criticised though for looking and backing into Lallana to win the penalty

Martin Keown criticised the way in which Kane won the penalty saying it was 'dangerous play'

Martin Keown criticised the way in which Kane won the penalty saying it was ‘dangerous play’

However on Match of the Day 2, pundit Keown said that he didn’t believe it should have been a penalty.

He said: ‘The referee has had a really bad afternoon, this is Harry Kane, I believe he knows exactly what he is doing. 

‘He looks at his opponent, knows what he is going to do and makes a back for him. I think it is dangerous play from Harry Kane and he knows what he is doing and I don’t even think it is a penalty.’

Co-pundit Peter Crouch added:’Kane knows what he is doing. He has looked at him twice, he knows Lallana is going to jump and he can get his back in there and maybe get a foul. Lallana only had eyes for the ball.’  

Match of the Day pundit Gary Lineker also reckoned Kane bought the penalty for his side.

He tweeted: ‘Thought @HKane bought that one. Just backed into Lallana and also not convinced it was inside the box.’

Kane scored from the penalty spot and Gareth Bale also scored to give Spurs the three points

Kane scored from the penalty spot and Gareth Bale also scored to give Spurs the three points

Lineker went on to add: ‘Worth pointing out that British players are just as culpable as foreign players when it comes to throwing themselves to the ground if someone flicks an eyelash at them in the box.

 ‘Will remain the case until penalties are given when players are fouled but stay upright regardless.’

Bale’s first goal since returning to the club helped Tottenham move up to second in the Premier League, two points off leaders Liverpool. 



Read more at DailyMail.co.uk


Comments are closed.