News, Culture & Society

Netflix scam warning issued over fake email

Netflix users have been warned to be on the lookout for a scam email, which claims accounts with the streaming service are set to be cancelled.

After technology experts Mailguard warned the 110 million Netflix users to be on high alert for the fake email, Australian police have issued a warning for domestic users.

Police have urged the community to watch out for the scam email, which informs recipients their billing information needs to be updated and they must ‘restart membership’. 

The hoax email includes a link to a fake Netflix website which asks users to log in and enter various types of personal information including a credit card number.

 

Netflix users have been warned not to give their bank details to the latest scam email claiming their account with the popular streaming service will be cancelled (pictured)

With a subject line ‘Your suspension notification’, the email claims unless credit card details are provided by the customer their subscription will instantly be shut down.

Complete with Netflix logos and a legitimate looking layout, the bogus email is a far cry from the mistake-ridden emails often associated with scammers – leading tech experts to urge users to be extra cautious.

Police are warning those who receive the email to avoid clicking on any links or open attachments from any trusted organisation.

‘Just hit delete,’ Queensland Police media warned in their statement.

‘If you are suspicious or concerned, do an internet search using the names or exact wording of the email or message to check for any references to a scam – many scams can be identified this way,’ police said. 

The hoax email includes a link to a fake Netflix website which asks users to log in and enter various types of personal information including a credit card number

The hoax email includes a link to a fake Netflix website which asks users to log in and enter various types of personal information including a credit card number

The scam email reads: ‘Hi, we were unable to validate your billing information for the next billing cycle of your subscription therefore we’ll suspend your membership if we do not receive a response from you within 48 hours.’

‘Obviously we’d love to have you back, simply click restart your membership to update your details and continue to enjoy all the best TV shows and movies without interruption.’ 

Clicking on the link takes you to a page featuring a background from popular Netflix show The Crown, where users are asked to login using their details.

From there you’re taken to a page asking for your full name, date of birth, address, and payment details – at the end of which the scammers have scored your money.

Netflix scam warning issued over fake email

Users are taken to a page asking for your full name, date of birth, address, and payment details - at the end of which the scammers have scored your money

Users are taken to a page asking for your full name, date of birth, address, and payment details

Keeping up the fraud, users are then taken to a reassuring 'reactivated' screen

Keeping up the fraud, users are then taken to a reassuring ‘reactivated’ screen

Keeping up the fraud, users are then taken to a reassuring ‘reactivated’ screen in an effort to keep up the appearance that nothing is wrong.

TIPS FOR AVOIDING SCAMS:

– Hover mouse over links in emails and check the domain they’re pointing to

– Have an up to date email filtering and security program installed

– Include a layered defence strategy for malicious emails and web threats

– Hide your friends list on Facebook

– Turn off location services and be aware of security levels for apps

‘This works like a mail-merge; the body of the email is generic, but the sender field is designed to show the name of the intended victim, which personalises the scam to make it more convincing,’ Mailguard’s tech expert Emmanuel Marshall wrote.

‘In this case the scammer’s system has not worked as well as they hoped… you can see the ‘recipient’ field… instead of the victim’s name, it shows the placeholder.

‘Always hover your mouse over links within emails and check the domain they’re pointing to. If they look suspicious or unfamiliar don’t open them.’ 

With nearly all modern day scams being delivered via email, Mr Marshall said filters for your inbox and a layered security system are vital to ensure you don’t fall victim.

Read more at DailyMail.co.uk