News, Culture & Society

Should England only have been given five runs for Ben Stokes’ LUCKY six in Cricket World Cup final?

Revealed: How umpires mistakenly gave England a crucial EXTRA run after New Zealand fielder’s throw hit Ben Stokes and went to the boundary during dramatic finale to cricket World Cup

  • Ben Stokes hit a lucky six when he inadvertently sent a throw to the boundary
  • England batsmen was diving to get back to crease after running to get two runs
  • The ball ricocheted off his bat and England were awarded six after it ran for four 
  • However, the law suggests that England should only have been given five runs
  • Stokes and Adil Rashid had not crossed for second run when the ball was thrown 

England won the Cricket World Cup after a ‘clear mistake’ by officials which robbed New Zealand of the title, a former Australian international umpire claimed today.

Simon Taufel, who has been named ICC’s Umpire of the Year on five occasions, said an extraordinary incident yesterday saw Ben Stokes handed six runs instead of five.

England matched New Zealand’s score of 241 from the final delivery, but earlier in the concluding over they were awarded the six runs in bizarre circumstances.

With nine needed from three deliveries, Stokes and Adil Rashid pushed for a second run when a throw from the boundary deflected off Stokes’ outstretched bat and away to the boundary for four byes and six in total.

But Taufel said they should have awarded five runs because Stokes and his partner Adil Rashid had not yet crossed for their second run as New Zealand fielder Martin Guptill released the ball. 

Ben Stokes was scampering for a second run in the final over of the Cricket World Cup

Martin Guptill's attempt to run him out backfired when the ball hit the Englishman's bat

Martin Guptill’s attempt to run him out backfired when the ball hit the Englishman’s bat

It then ricocheted away from New Zealand wicketkeeper Tom Latham and towards the rope

‘There was a judgement error on the overthrow,’ Taufel told The Age and Sydney Morning Herald

‘The judgement error was the timing of when the fielder threw the ball. The act of the overthrow starts when the fielder releases the ball. That’s the act.

OVERTHROW OR WILFUL ACT OF FIELDER – LAW 19.8

‘If the boundary results from an overthrow or from the wilful act of a fielder, the runs scored shall be any runs for penalties awarded to either side, and the allowance for the boundary, and the runs completed by the batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had already crossed at the instant of the throw or act.’

‘It becomes an overthrow from the instant of the throw.’

With England requiring nine runs off three balls, the most inconceivable thing happened. 

As Ben Stokes scampered back for a second run and dived for his crease, the ball thrown from the deep inadvertently ricocheted off his bat to the boundary.

After consulting with his colleagues, Kumar Dharmasena signalled a six – giving England a massive boost in a pivotal moment of their pursuit of 242.

However, according to Law 19.8, pertaining to ‘Overthrow or wilful act of fielder’, England’s second on-field run should not have counted, making it a total of five runs for the incident, not six. 

Stokes lay prone on the floor as the ball ran away and down towards the boundary

Stokes lay prone on the floor as the ball ran away and down towards the boundary 

New Zealand's Colin de Grandhomme gave chase but couldn't catch up with the ball

New Zealand’s Colin de Grandhomme gave chase but couldn’t catch up with the ball

England were awarded six runs after the ball went for four - they had also run two

England were awarded six runs after the ball went for four – they had also run two 

The law states: ‘If the boundary results from an overthrow or from the wilful act of a fielder, the runs scored shall be any runs for penalties awarded to either side, and the allowance for the boundary, and the runs completed by the batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had already crossed at the instant of the throw or act.’ 

The ICC have been approached for comment. 

He held his hands up to apologise to the New Zealand team for the one-off accident 

The umpire gave England six but law suggests it should only have been five runs as Stokes and Adil Rashid had not crossed for the second run when the fielder had thrown the ball

The umpire gave England six but law suggests it should only have been five runs as Stokes and Adil Rashid had not crossed for the second run when the fielder had thrown the ball

Stokes, who was born in New Zealand, joked that he will be ‘apologising for the rest of my life’ after the incredible sequence of events that helped him score 14 runs off the final over to tie the game – and then claim a historic victory for England in the subsequent super over.

Speaking after the game, Stokes said: ‘Playing against New Zealand is always a great event to be a part of. They’re a seriously good team and they’re great lads. 

‘I said to (Captain) Kane (Williamson) I’ll be apologising for that for the rest of my life!’  

Read more at DailyMail.co.uk