News, Culture & Society

Victoria has the best chance of winning the record $110million lotto powerball jackpot

Do you live in Australia’s luckiest state? Lottery winning hotspots are revealed as $110million jackpot is rolled over for another week

  • Victoria is the luckiest state in 2019 with 66 division one winners since January
  • A man in March pocketed over $40million and a Bendigo man won $30million 
  • Victoria was the luckiest state last year, winning $280M in division one prizes 
  • New South Wales and ACT have had 52 winners and Queenslanders have had 35 

Victoria has been revealed as Australia’s luckiest state – with Australia’s Lotto jackpot now standing at $110 million. 

So far this year, Victoria has had 66 winners across Saturday Lotto, Monday and Wednesday Lotto, Oz Lotto, Powerball, Super 66 and Lotto Strike.  

The state was also a Lotto hotspot last year, raking in a total of 143 division one winning entries sold in the state across all lottery games for 2018. 

These delivered more than $280 million in division one prize money – more than any other Australian state or territory. 

In March, a lucky Victorian man had a remarkable Oz Lotto win after accidentally  buying two winning tickets with the same numbers that then went on to win the division one Jackpot – scoring him over $40 million. 

The Victorian bought two of the three winning Division One tickets in the $70 million Oz Lotto Jackpot. 

In May a Bendigo factory worker’s life was changed when he won the $30 million division one Powerball, selecting the same ‘lucky’ numbers he’d been using for years.  

If recent history is anything to go by – Victorian residents have the best chance of claiming the $110million prize

Last year the Melbourne suburb of Preston landed four major winners, worth more than $5.2million. 

2019’s Division One winning hotspots 

Victoria – 66 

New South Wales and ACT – 52 

Queensland – 35 

Western Australia – 28 

South Australia – 15 

Tasmania – 9 

Northern Territory – 3 

Residents in NSW and the ACT are also in with a fighting chance to take out the record jackpot next Thursday, having had 52 winners since January.  

Division one winners in New South Wales and the ACT shared in the most division one prize money last year, with more than $295.7 million won. 

Taking out 35 division one winners so far in 2019 is the Sunshine State.

The most recent hefty win to come out of Queensland was an Ipswich mum and a Sunshine Coast man who each pocketed half of the $80 million Oz Lotto jackpot on June 26.  

Close behind is Western Australia, with 28 residents winning division one jackpots this year.

South Australia has won 15, while nine Tasmanians and just three Northern Territory residents took home division one jackpots since January. 

So far this year, Victoria has had 66 winners across Saturday Lotto, Monday & Wednesday Lotto, Oz Lotto, Powerball, Super 66 and Lotto Strike

So far this year, Victoria has had 66 winners across Saturday Lotto, Monday & Wednesday Lotto, Oz Lotto, Powerball, Super 66 and Lotto Strike 

In the 12 months to 30 June 2019, 10 Powerball division one winners across Australia pocketed $398,575,649.10 in prize money.

During the 12 months, NSW and Victoria were each home to three Powerball division one winners.

Queensland, Tasmania, South Australia and Western Australia each welcomed one winner. 

But even if punters aren’t located in the biggest-winning areas, the Lott spokesman Matt Hart told Daily Mail Australia that any entrants can win big with their choice of numbers. 

Over the last year, more-frequently-drawn winning numbers are 17 and two from the main barrel – where seven winning numbers are drawn from one to 35.

Numbers that haven’t been so hot are 12 and one, which are the less-frequently-drawn winning numbers.  

Despite Thursday night’s jackpot flop, not everyone came away empty handed, with nine lucky punters winning $91,728,90 during the division two draw.

Australians will be itching to get their hands on a ticket when the jackpot soars to the highest division one prize ever offered by a national lottery game.  

Powerball draw 1208 closes at 7.30pm AEST on Thursday July 18.