News, Culture & Society

WhatsApp finally lets users unsend embarrassing messages

Most of us have sent at least one text or image we later wished we could take back.

And thanks to WhatsApp’s latest update, that wish has now become a reality.

WhatsApp has introduced a new ‘delete for everyone’ feature, allowing users to unsend an embarrassing message within seven minutes of sending it.

The feature is currently rolling out to users on Android and iOS, although it is unclear how widespread and quickly the launch will take place.  

 

WhatsApp has introduced a new ‘delete for everyone’ feature, allowing users to unsend embarrassing messages

HOW TO UNSEND A MESSAGE 

To delete a message, open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you want to delete.

Tap and hold the message, then choose Delete from the menu.

Tap ‘Delete for everyone’ and the message will disappear.

Messages you successfully delete for everyone will now be replaced with ‘This message was deleted’ in your recipients’ chats.

Similarly, if you see ‘This message was deleted’ in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.

WhatsApp has updated its FAQs page to explain the new feature.

The FAQ page says: ‘Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat.

‘This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake.’

To delete a message, open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you want to delete.

Tap and hold the message, then choose Delete from the menu.

Tap ‘Delete for everyone’ and the message will disappear.

Messages you successfully delete for everyone will now be replaced with ‘This message was deleted’ in your recipients’ chats.

Similarly, if you see ‘This message was deleted’ in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.

There is a catch – you can only delete messages for everyone for up to seven minutes after sending, after which point, there’s no turning back.

Whatsapp also warns that even if you delete a message, the recipient may still have had a chance to see and open the message.

The WhatApp FAQ added: ‘In order for messages to be successfully deleted for everyone, both you and your recipient must be using the latest version of WhatsApp for Android, iPhone or Windows Phone.’

While WhatsApp has updated its FAQs page to explain the new feature, it does not say when it will be available

While WhatsApp has updated its FAQs page to explain the new feature, it does not say when it will be available

Messages you successfully delete for everyone will now be replaced with 'This message was deleted' in your recipients' chats

Messages you successfully delete for everyone will now be replaced with ‘This message was deleted’ in your recipients’ chats

Another worry is that if something goes wrong and the deletion doesn’t work, you won’t be notified.

While it is yet to launch, the feature was spotted by WABetaInfo, a WhatsApp insider site, which also shared screenshots of the function.

According to WABetaInfo, the rollout of Delete for Everyone is proving ‘very slow’

MailOnline has contacted WhatsApp for more information on when the feature will be available globally.

 

Read more at DailyMail.co.uk


Comments are closed.