Coronavirus Australia: NSW and Victoria to reopen quarantine-free travel to NZ’s south island

Australia reopens quarantine-free travel to New Zealand’s south island – but only two states will welcome Kiwi visitors and Aussies who were left stranded across the ditch when borders closed

Trans-Tasman family reunions are back on the cards with Australia reopening quarantine-free travel to many Kiwis.

The national Chief Health Officer Professor Paul Kelly has announced that Australian government has reopened quarantine-free travel from New Zealand’s south island, which has not had any Covid-19 cases since last year. 

Quarantine-free travel will commence from Tuesday night.

Professor Kelly said NSW and Victoria will accept Kiwis but didn’t mention any other states during during a press conference on Sunday.

Kiwis from them South Island flying across the Tasman must return a negative Covid test within 72 hours of the departure flight time, show proof they’re fully vaccinated and have not been on New Zealand North Island for any period during the last 14 days

The Australian government will continue the pause of green zone flights from New Zealand’s North Island until November 1 following a further spread of locally acquired cases.

The news comes after New Zealand government hinted it may ease international border rules before Christmas.

More to come.