Melbourne Cup 2021 winner, results: Where your horse placed at Flemington, did Incentivise win?

Where YOUR horse finished in  Melbourne Cup 2021: The final placings and dividends in this year’s $8million spring carnival showpiece

Verry Elleegant has stormed home to beat the raging hot favourite win the 2021 Melbourne Cup in an extraordinary race at Flemington Racecourse.

The $17.40 priced horse ridden by James McDonald trained by Chris Waller overtook the short-priced Incentivise in the final stages to claim the cup in the race that stops the nation.

Incentivise held on to finish second, followed by second priced favourite Spanish Mission while Floating Artist finished fourth in front of a crowd of 10,000 and millions of television viewers.

The trifecta paid $356.10 while punters who picked the first four will walk away with $4,829.70.

James McDonald moments after riding Verry Elleegant to victory in the Melbourne Cup

Here’s how your horse placed:

1. Verry Elleegant

2. Incentivise

3. Spanish Mission

Incentivise was in the leading pack for  much of the race and was in front going into the home straight, where it was overtaken by the fast finishing Verry Elleegant.

When markets opened, Incentivise was shorter than any Cup runner since the great Phar Lap 91 years ago, which is extraordinary given back in March he ran third last in a Toowoomba maiden.

Reigning champion Twilight Payment finished in the middle of the field of 23.

The 2020 champion was one of only three international runners in this year’s field, along with second priced favourite Spanish Mission and English colt Sir Lucan.

Port Guillaume, Johnny Get Angry and Ocean Billy brought up the rear after Future Score was scratched on the morning of the Cup.



1. Verry Elleegant

2. Incentivise

3. Spanish Mission

4. Floating Artist 

 5. The Chosen One

6. Grand Promenade    

7. Delphi  

8.  Selino

9.Tralee Rose

10:  She’s Ideel  

11. Twilight Payment  

12:  Miami Bound

13. Great House

14. Sir Lucan

15. Explosive Jack

16. Master Of Wine

17.  Pondus

18. Carif  

19. Knights Order

20. Persan 

21. Port Guillaume

22. Johnny Get Angry

23. Ocean Billy

24. Future Score (scratched before the race)