News, Culture & Society

Novak Djokovic accidentally hits another line judge during French Open clash with Karen Khachanov

Novak Djokovic accidentally hits line judge again during French Open quarter-final against Karen Khachanov… bringing back memories of his US Open disqualification last month

  • Novak Djokovic was kicked off the US Open for hitting a line judge in annoyance 
  • The Serbian number one struck Laura Clark in September after losing a point
  • Djokovic hit another line judge in his French Open quarter-final on Monday
  • The 17-time Grand Slam winner was not disqualified this time as it was accidental

The Color Toner Experts

Novak Djokovic accidentally hit another line judge in his French Open quarter-final on Monday – evoking memories of his US Open disqualification earlier this year. 

The Serbian world number one was battling Karen Khachanov in the first set of the last-eight contest at Rolland Garros when he attempted to return a ferocious serve from his Russian opponent.

Instead of returning the ball back, Djokovic unintentionally diverted the ball towards the line judge and the ball struck the official in the face.  

Novak Djokovic (right) hit another line judge in his French Open last-eight clash on Monday

Djokovic accidentally struck the official while trying to return a serve from Karen Khachanov

Djokovic accidentally struck the official while trying to return a serve from Karen Khachanov

Djokovic was disqualified from the US Open last month after he whacked a ball into the throat of line judge Laura Clark at Flushing Meadows after losing a point in the last-16 contest against Pablo Carreno Busta.

The 17-time Grand Slam winner was immediately kicked out of the tournament, as per the rules of the game, though will not face any action after this occasion as the motion of hitting the ball towards the line judge was unintentional. 

The Serbian refused to guarantee that an incident similar to one at the US Open will not happen again in his career, though did claim before the French Open that he will be extra cautious regarding his on-court demeanour. 

Djokovic said before the tournament: ‘Obviously I am going to be extra careful of hitting a tennis ball around the court. That’s something that is obviously staying in my mind after what happened in New York. It’s going to stay there for a long time.

Djokovic will not face a disqualification this time around as the action was accidental

Djokovic will not face a disqualification this time around as the action was accidental

The world number one was shockingly disqualified for a similar incident at the US Open

The world number one was shockingly disqualified for a similar incident at the US Open

Djokovic (right) hit line judge Laura Clark (middle) in a moment of annoyance in New York

Djokovic (right) hit line judge Laura Clark (middle) in a moment of annoyance in New York

‘Of course, I will make sure I don’t make the same mistake twice. But I don’t think that this will have any significant negative impact on how I feel on the tennis court.’

Djokovic is currently search of his 18th Grand Slam title, which would take him within two major tournament wins behind Roger Federer, who is not competing in Paris this year.

However, the Serbian faces stiff competition in tournament favourite Rafael Nadal who is looking to not only equal Federer’s record but also secure his fourth French Open title in a row.

Djokovic is chasing a 18th mens singles Grand Slam title at Rolland Garros this week

Djokovic is chasing a 18th mens singles Grand Slam title at Rolland Garros this week

Nadal has won the singles title at Rolland Garros a dozen times since his first triumph in 2005, though the Spaniard has a tougher run-in to the final than Djokovic.

Should Nadal beat unseeded Italian Jannik Sinner in the last-eight, then he could face third seed Dominic Thiem who takes on Diego Schwartzman on Tuesday. 

Djokovic, meanwhile, could face a reunion with Carreno Busta in the semi-final, who plays Daniel Altmaier on Monday. 



Read more at DailyMail.co.uk


Comments are closed.