News, Culture & Society

NZ coach replaces Lehmann on ICC committee

The Color Toner Experts

New Zealand coach Mike Hesson has replaced Darren Lehmann on the ICC’s cricket committee, a group responsible for helping shape the future of the sport.

Lehmann was set to coach Australia until the end of the 2019 Ashes but quit after the ball-tampering saga.

That resignation meant he also vacated the International Cricket Council’s influential cricket committee, which has driven change in areas such as the Decision Review System (DRS).

The ICC confirmed three changes to its cricket committee on Wednesday.

Hesson, former Australia captain and ICC hall of fame member Belinda Clark (women’s cricket representative) and Scotland captain Kyle Coetzer (associates representative) have replaced Lehmann, Clare Connor and Kevin O’Brien.

The committee chaired by former India captain and coach Anil Kumble will meet next week in Mumbai, discussing player behaviour, potentially scrapping the toss and other issues.

Chief executive David Richardson confirmed the ICC would review its code of conduct and sanctions following the Cape Town cheating scandal, which came after a series of ugly incidents that marred the sport.

Lehmann had been one of the most vocal supporters of a push to ditch the coin toss in Tests, proposing the visiting side be given the option of batting or bowling.

The initiative is intended to reduce home-ground advantage, encouraging curators around the world to produce pitches that deliver a better balance between bat and ball.


Sorry we are not currently accepting comments on this article.


Comments are closed.