We were right! Mitchell Starc dropped catch at World Cup catch proves why Ashes umpires were CORRECT to deny Australian his grab at Lord’s, claims MCC chief, as he calls out Glenn McGrath during South Africa match

  • Mitchell Starc dropped a catch in Australia’s match with South Africa 
  • The incident re-opened the debate surrounding his Ashes ‘catch’ 
  • The MCC head of cricket Stewart Fraser called out Glenn McGrath

A cricket official has claimed that Mitchell Starc has inadvertently vindicated the Lord’s umpires after his dropped catch at the World Cup highlighted a major flaw in the Australians’ argument.

Starc spilt a chance off David Miller during Australia’s clash with South Africa on Thursday, one of a number of sloppy fielding efforts by Pat Cummins’ side as their rivals made 311 runs in the first innings.

The left-arm seamer initially had the ball in his hands, before letting it loose when his elbows touched the ground.  

The misfield reopened the debate surrounding his controversial catch during this year’s Ashes series at Lord’s. 

Starc saw his catch off Ben Duckett – in which he appeared to catch the ball but use use the ground to control it – ruled out by the third umpire, who argued he did not have full control of his own movement. 

It triggered a huge debate among pundits and fans, with Glenn McGrath an outspoken critic of the decision.

‘I’m sorry, that is the biggest load of rubbish I have ever seen,’ he said. ‘He has got that ball under control. That ball is under control. I’m sorry, I’ve seen everything this game has to offer. 

‘If that is not out, then every other catch that’s ever been taken should be not out. That is a disgrace. I’ve seen everything now. I cannot believe that. 

‘If that ball is not under control, that is ridiculous. He’s got that well under control in two hands. I have seen everything now.’ 

However, Starc’s drop in India is vindication for that decision, claims MCC head of cricket Stewart Fraser.

Posting on X – formerly known as Twitter – he said: ‘That drop from Starc shows why his ‘catch that wasn’t’ at Lord’s was correctly not out. 

‘It’s harder to hold onto the ball with the palms facing upwards. He tried to do it lawfully, but couldn’t hang onto it as his elbows hit the ground.’

He then called out McGrath, asking: ‘Agree?’

Australia lost their opening World Cup game and face a confident South Africa – who smashed Sri Lanka in their first match.  

Read more at DailyMail.co.uk